Riverside Church Bell Tower   5 comments

Friday was a gorgeous day, temps nearing 60, it felt like spring was truly on the way. It was not to last, of course, as temps dropped back to the 30s on Saturday, joined by 50 MPH winds. Crazy stuff! Friday evening, while it was still relatively temperate, I hoped for one of those beautiful post-sundown navy blue skies as I had a particular subject in mind that would work perfectly in that setting. Instead an overcast built itself up over the course of the afternoon and I had no shot, or so I thought. By the time I left the office, the clouds had broken apart just enough to allow the setting sunlight to poke through and light them in a beautiful pink glow. I’d been waiting to get a good image of Riverside Church’s bell tower and this was my chance. I hustled up the hill to Broadway, set up and got a couple of good shots, including this one.

A funny thing happened while I worked on this image. I was standing under the elevated subway trestle and the camera was pointing in a south western direction toward the church. A black Crown Victoria pulled next to me, the driver asked me if “I was taking pictures” (he looked like Dwayne “The Rock” Johnston, by the way) and told me people get scared when they see someone with a camera under the tracks. Meanwhile, the car wasn’t marked and I didn’t see a badge so I don’t know who the guy was but he took off after a quick conversation. I don’t know, I would think a terrorist would attempt to be somewhat less conspicuous than to stand in an intersection with a tripod and attract attention.

Posted February 21, 2011 by Beth in Harlem

Tagged with , , , , , , , ,

5 responses to “Riverside Church Bell Tower

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Great colors, Beth. You are going to make a name for yourself as a NYC photographer if you’re not careful!

  2. I agree with Colin. The purple cast over the peachy sunset and periwinkle of some of the buildings, and the tower sprouting above the urban congestion — itself a pastiche of local architectural types — it’s a valentine to New York !

    Jeremey-Stuart de Fishberg
  3. Thanks, Colin! These NY scenes are really fun to shoot.

  4. Damn, you’re so poetic, Jeremey! ;-)

  5. Oh, how big it is. Ours are so small when comparing this one and so different.

    Happy blogging!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

